Basics Of Classification

There are three domains, Bacteria, Archaea, Eukarya which are based off of how they evolved in relation to each other. These go from least complicated to most with everything from cellular structure, number of cells, and functions. Eukarya are the most definitive of the 3 domains, the lines between bacteria and archaea are already difficult to identify but the sections within are even more difficult to find variations in. The easiest way to tell the difference between the closely related bacteria and archaea, and eukarya is the types of cells they are made of. Bacteria and archaea are made of prokaryotic cells, and eukarya are made of eukaryotic cells.

Each of the subcategories also represent the varying levels of complication, the most common interaction you’ll have are with eukarya, even within each of these subcategories are more and more. Here are just a few:

  • Bacteria
    • Eubacteria
  • Archaea
    • Archaebacteria
  • Eukarya
    • Protists
    • Plants
      • Vascular
        • Seedless
        • Seed Baring
          • Angiosperms
            • Monocotyledons
            • Dicotyledons
          • Gymnosperms
    • Fungi
      • Mycota
      • Eumycota
      • Straminipila
      • Slime Moulds
    • Animals
      • Vertebrates
        • Fish
        • Amphibians
        • Reptiles
        • Birds
        • Mammals
          • Marsupials
          • Primates
          • Rodents
          • Cetaceans
          • etc.
      • Invertebrates
        • Annelids
        • Mollusks
        • Arthropods
        • Arachnids
        • etc.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s